Week 1

I have completed the first week of my SESUR project. I began working on Wednesday by downloading PyLith a finite element code which finds numerical solutions to equations with an emphasis on earthquake modeling.

I got familiar with the software by reading select portions of the user manual and running and reading through example problems provided with the download.

Similarly, I began working with ParaView which is a visualization software to help understand scientific data. It can run 2D and 3D renderings as well as animations for time dependent processes.

I still need to get software to generate mesh inputs for PyLith.

My graduate student mentor Brad Lipovsky and I discussed a model of an ice shelf that follows a simple beam flexure problem with numerical solutions. I began setting up the beam flexure problem for PyLith beginning with detailing the material properties. We also discussed the governing equations and boundary conditions which I will set up next week.

Leave a Reply

