Week 2

I have made a lot progress in the last couple of days since my previous blog post.

I now have and can operate all of the software I need for my program including Trelis, which makes meshes to use for the finite element code PyLith, and Paraview which helps to visualize data. I have not yet written anything that works, but hopefully I can begin by replicating the model I made in Matlab using an analytical solution.

Elevation profiles generated in Matlab using an analytical solution for an elastic beam model.
Elevation profiles generated in Matlab using an analytical solution for an elastic beam model.

I now have Matlab running some fun animations of the elevation profiles of a simple elastic beam model for the ice. It draws the profile out from the grounding line (the zone where the ice last touches the ground before floating on the surface of the water) to the edge of the ice. The model calculates profiles at various different heights of the water, although it needs an inertial component in order to model the motion in time.

My next step is going to try to get the same solution out of the finite element code before trying to bring in some neglected terms and geometric complexities. Additionally, this may require some rethinking about the boundary conditions of the beam.

Leave a Reply

